Tony Iommi Autobiography: New Details

According to the unofficial Black Sabbath website Black-Sabbath.com, Tony Iommi’s memoir, Iron Man: My Journey Through Heaven and Hell with Black Sabbath will be released in the U.S. on November 1. It will debut in Europe before then, on October 13.

Publishers Da Capo reportedly paid a six-figure amount at auction for the rights to the 352-page book, which was described as “Angela’s Ashes meets The Ground Beneath Her Feet meets Spinal Tap” by Peter McGuigan, who completed the North American rights deal for the memoir.

Iommi has, until now, been reluctant to open up. In a recent interview with Guitar World magazine, Iommi explained how his autobiography came together.

“I had a chap called T.J. Lammers, who I met many, many years ago when he used to work at Phonogram Records,” Iommi said. “He later became a journalist and he had his own magazine. He lives in Holland and we’ve stayed in touch over the years. I’ve had a few people say, ‘Oh, I can write a book for you,’ but I wanted a different outlook to the normal music journalist, and that’s what happened. He came over to England and stayed with me for a few days. Then he’d write it up, come back again and do more. The whole thing took a couple years to finish.”

Will it be different to the usual rock bio? “I don’t know!” Iommi says. “I don’t read rock biographies, so it could be the same, it could be different. It’s just my life, really. I’ve been meaning to do it for many, many years but never got around to it.”

Via: Gibson

Leave a Reply

